Quadra-Fire 4100 firebrick

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Abunker11

Jun 4, 2014
Mass.
Hi- I just picked up a Quadrafire 4100 (Sorry it is a 4300) off Craigslist. The firebricks are in fairly good shape I think, but I am surprised at how light they are. A few are cracked and some are partially consumed by the fire. In talking with an owner of a Napoleon fireplace I learned the Napoleon had 140lbs of brick. The Quadrafire's all together in a box might weigh 30 lbs. It seems to me more mass is better but I am a rookie at this. I was also surprised to see the fiber blanket resting on 2 very thin and seemingly fragile tiles. One is cracked. The fiber blanket appears new. Are these standard weight bricks or cheap aftermarkets? Can one buy better grade brick material and cut them to fit or would that alter the engineering for the worse?

(just an aside in case it is important. I was told this is a 5 year old 3100 Millenium, but when I got it home I realized the label on the back was missing. After taking the bricks out and measuring them and comparing the diagrams in the owners manual I see it is a 4300)

Last edited:
MASS is not the reason for the firebrick being in the box.
They act as insulators to the shell & actually concentrate the heat within the firebox to aid with the secondary burn.
Some are firebricks are made of a lightweight, vermiculite-type material.
Most "split" firebricks are made of a heavier refractory fireclay.
Either one will work properly for you.

MASS is not the reason for the firebrick being in the box.