Quadrafire Classic Bay 1200 grounded properly?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

hooverda18

Jan 14, 2019
Pennsylvania
Hello everyone, I'm new to the pellet stove world and I just had a new QuadraFire Classic Bay 1200 installed in my home. I've had issues with it roughly a week after install. To start off it was installed by a certified dealer. They installed it with an outside air kit (wasn't sure what that even was at first). Lets get to the issues I have been having...

1. I have to clean the glass every day because there is so much ash and black soot that builds up on it and you can't see inside.
2. I also vacuum the stove out every day (mostly because I like to keep it clean) but also because of the ash build up around the fire pot
3. Every time I clean out the stove I get shocked. Sometimes its just a little shock and then other times it hits me so hard it could bring me back from the dead. I thought it was just static electricity at first but I took my voltage tester to the outside of the stove and its throwing a high current... Then if I keep the tester in the stove and touch the stove anywhere with my fingers I then ground that stove and it detects no current at all.
4. I also have to chisel hard black build up off the inside of the fire pot (including the swing plate at the bottom)

With all that said. I had a technician come out to take a look because the stove was burning so dirty with all the soot and what not building up on the glass, fire pot and baffle plates. He disconnected the outside air kit and it seems to have helped a little bit. However, I'm still getting the build up.