Question about firebox and flue gasses and particulates

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

habanero

Dec 5, 2019
California
Greetings. I'm new to hearth.com but have been reading posts for several weeks.

I'm researching wood heat as a possibility for a friend's home and have a technical question I haven't seen addressed on hearth.com, or anywhere online.

My question is, does anyone know of studies or research data which compare the combustion gasses and particulates in both the firebox and the exhaust of EPA 2020 vs older EPA certified stoves? In particular I'm wondering how the more efficient EPA 2020 designs, with lower particulate emissions, effect the composition of gasses and particulates in the stove firebox. One concern is that the processes which produce lower particulates exiting the stove may increase toxic gasses and particulates in the firebox, and as a result, in the indoor air.