Questions about a add-on storage tank design

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Tseeker

Nov 20, 2011
Maine
Hi!
This is my first time posting on here! So hello to you all!

We are now the happy owners of a Englander 28-3500 wood furnace Good bye oil !!!!!

Anyway, being that it's rated for 3000sqr feet and our house is about 1900sqr feet we do have some excess capacity, it's a hot air furnace, so whatever storage that we would add on would be a diy thing most likely. now the furnace is intended as an add-on since it's burn time is 8hrs max, but as we get into our maine winter I don't know if that's going to go down as we run it harder. It's all manually controlled draft, not even a bimetal damper so sometimes we're hot and sometimes we're running downstairs to give it another turn or two. I'm not complaining , just thinking about improving it further.

Now I've only had this idea since this morning, and my head's been fogged up with a cold, so feel free to tell me i'm an idiot

If I were to build an insulated metal frame in the basement (the only way down into the basement is by a narrow set of steps that was a tight fit for our furnace) and put in a bladder tank -500gals a bare minimum?- and then take a clean truck radiator (research showed that they're rated 80k-200k btus) of at least 100k btu rating and construct the ducting so that when the blower on the furnace came on a pump would circulate the water through the radiator. and when the furnace was let to go out during warmer times, we could grab some heat from the tank.

Questions:

1. Am I an idiot?