Questions about my quadra fire isle royale

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Billybong120

Oct 25, 2020
Dubuque iowa
How's it going everyone. I'm new to the wood stove burning and did my install myself and figured I would ask you all about this since I didn't see it answered.
So I have a quadra fire isle royale and my question is how close can you get it next to painted drywall. From what I read it was 8inchs and to be safe I went to 15inchs and something like 22 in the back. It's a corner install if that helps. I will include a picture. Just need some reassurance that I won't burn my house down.

IMG_20201025_211017051.jpg

The IR is a serious heater. it needs to be 18" from any combustible in the corner with single wall stove pipe. This corner clearance can be reduced to 6" with double-wall but I would exceed the minimum.

Do you have the manual?

The IR is a serious heater. it needs to be 18" from any combustible in the corner with single wall stove pipe. This corner clearance can be reduced to 6" with double-wall but I would exceed the minimum.

Do you have the manual?
I do have the manual and from what I read it was 8inchs and I'm using double wall pipe.

It may depend on the manual date. I just compared the 2006 manual to the 2013 manual. Both say 6" for double-wall, but the newer manual says 22" for single wall (dimension E).

Screen Shot 2020-10-26 at 5.08.34 PM.png

So I guess my question is that is for the pipe to the wall correct? I was more thinking the stove to the wall distance?
It is the dimension E clearance from the corner of the stove as shown in the manual.

Reactions: Billybong120