REAL ACTUAL BURN TIME

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Srossi720

Jan 14, 2019
CT
Okay so I’m new to burning this year and just wanted a round about number for peoples burn time. I have an Englander NC 30 and my burn time is as follows...
From load to reload is about 8 hours, I can visually see wood burning for about 4 hours and have a bed of coals for the remaining 4 hours and stove top temps stay about 750f burning wood and about 450-500f with coals left. Any input would be great thanks!

Okay so I’m new to burning this year and just wanted a round about number for peoples burn time. I have an Englander NC 30 and my burn time is as follows...
From load to reload is about 8 hours, I can visually see wood burning for about 4 hours and have a bed of coals for the remaining 4 hours and stove top temps stay about 750f burning wood and about 450-500f with coals left. Any input would be great thanks!
It depends on the stove the fuel the chimney the air settings etc.

Reactions: Srossi720
Your doing good with what you're getting, like Bholler said a lot depends on the stove, a bk king will get triple of what youre getting.

Maybe this should have been titled Real Actual NC 30 burn times? As Bholler mentioned there are variables that come into play with each set up...from what I have read here you are getting the best burn time expected out of this particular stove...you are doing good!

Sounds normal to me. I get about 3hrs flame, 3 hrs coals, when pushing my summit for max heating capacity. Shoulder season I can stretch it to about 4hra flame and 5-6hrs coals.