Recommendation for wood splitter

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

vandedav

Mar 5, 2009
Southern Indiana
Hello guys,

I am a site manager for a summer camp and retreat center. We split a lot of firewood and have done it for the last few years with a tsc splitter. It is getting old and we have an offer from a supporter that he wants to buy a new splitter for us. He said he is willing to go up to $1500.

What do you guys think? Which splitter would you recommend?

I can't offer much more advice (since my splitter is homemade) other than make sure it's got a quality pump (such as a barnes/haldex) and high enough flow.... (mine has a 16GPM pump... and it's a tad slow on the 5" ram).

as for the engine.... take your pick...

Is there anything you'd like to improve upon over the splitter you currently use? More force, faster cycle time, vertical/horizontal operation, etc.?

TSC has sold a variety of splitters over the years. Is the old one a Huskee? Tonnage? Cycle time (ram time down and back)?

There is no reason a decent 20-22 ton splitter won't do the job. The splitter from TSC won't cost $1500 but will do everything a $1500 splitter will. In addition, just because the benefactor said he'd to to $1500 is not reason you have to spend it all. So get a new one, sell the old one and you are well ahead of the game. Or, perhaps somebody might be interested in rebuilding the old one then it could be sold for even more. I'm sure the camp could always use some extra dollars.