Round Oak restoration project

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Txtiger

Feb 9, 2024
Southeast Oklahoma
For a little context, I'm completely new at restoring vintage wood stoves. That being said, I purchased a Round Oak Double Burner and am in the process of restoring it. I'm missing a few pieces, but once it's back together it will be functional until Iacquirethe missing pieces. I've got everything apart except separating the fire box from the ash base. It appears to be attached with 3 studs, or rivets. At first I thought there were nuts securing the firebox to the base with threaded studs, but I now believe those (nuts) are part of the casting after removing the rust., and there are no threads. I've got most of the stove putty out from where they join, but now need some advice on removing the firebox from the ash base. I can cut the stud, drill it out, and replace them with bolts and nuts.
Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Why do you need to remove it from the base? This isn’t vintage, it is antique. There are a few sites such as Ed Semmelwroth at Antiquestoves. com and the Stove Hospital in RI.

Have you searched the Coalpail Forum using keywords?

I don’t think there is anything online for rebuilding, but there is a museum in Dowagiac Mich where these were made.

Why do you need to remove it from the base? This isn’t vintage, it is antique. There are a few sites such as Ed Semmelwroth at Antiquestoves. com and the Stove Hospital in RI.

I don’t think there is anything online for rebuilding, but there is a museum in Dowagiac Mich where these were made.