SHIN PROTECTORS!!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Nov 27, 2008
Upstate South Carolina
Gentlemen, Today while splitting some cherry with my 8lb maul, I had a split fly off and bark my shin really bad. I have been splitting and burning for over 30 years and have had this happen several times. I have noticed that when using a wedge and sledge, if you stand 45 degrees to the wedge face, it won't bite you. Sometimes on a super tough piece it'll through the wedge away. This well not hit you if you stand right but it would be lots better if I had some shin guards. The kind that baseball catchers or socker players use would work fine. They would be best if they covered the shin from the knee to the top of the foot. The chain saw chaps are not what I had in mind. Anyway, are there some guards for wood splitters or do I need to go to our local sports store? What would work best? I enjoy splitting and it keeps this 66 year old body in some what reasonable shape, but I do need to stop the shin wounds. Idea's please. Captain Hornet.

Captain Hornet said: