should I replace wood insert????

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

bcompton53

Oct 21, 2020
Kansas
So here's my setup, just bought a new house (old house....new to us). It has a "earth stove 2800HT" insert installed in a pretty cool limestone surround, made with rock that came off of the property. I came from a quadrafire 3100 freestanding stove. We burn a lot of wood, mostly hedge through the Kansas winter. I am new to inserts, so I am looking for advice. This insert appears to be fairly old. It's in decent shape, however I think it has gotten too hot at some point in it's life. The steel baffle appears to be fairly warped, or the stove is warped around it, because it doesn't sit flat above the secondary tubes like it should. My other observation is that the blower seems pretty dang loud. It is almost too much of a disruption on high, and doesn't move much air on any lower setting. It appears to be all functioning correctly, as far as all of the motors turning freely etc.
I am considering a replacement insert. Listed efficiency is 63% according to the manual, and I can say that it definitely burns more wood than my old quadrafire freestanding did. It doesn't produce near the heat, or at least it doesn't feel like it, but that could be just an insert vs freestanding.