Simple green building tips?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

CowboyAndy

Feb 29, 2008
Chateaugay, NY
First I would like to start by saying that I am new to the whole "green" thing... but I am trying to make whatever impact I can, no matter how small.

I am on the board of directors for our local habitat for humanity. We only build 1 house a year on average, and the next one is slated for an April ground breaking. I would like to suggest going green with it and have a few ideas, but would like some more. In order for me to sell the idea to the rest of the board, its going to have to be low cost...

The only things I have really come up with so far is recycled carpet, bamboo flooring, recycled glass countertop for building materials. I also plan to donate my oil furnace, and take home any wood scraps that i can burn in my wood furnace.

I know it seems like everyone is "jumping on the going green bandwagon", and yes, i am too. i know alot of people are doing it because its the trendy thing right now, but i think that its good no matter why the reason.

so, what other suggestionsdo you have for building green?

Why build at all? There are so many empty homes out there.

Build small and energy efficient. I grew up in a 1200 square foot home. My previous previous house was 1000.
Why can't people live in smaller homes?
I am guilty as my current place is like 1800 but I didn't build it. I have lived in 3000 square many moons ago.

How did we all grow up with one family bathroom? One car garage/carport? A closet only a four year old could walk into?