Small Loads More Efficient Use of Wood?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Toasty-Yote

Dec 13, 2022
New York
I have been running a Pacific Energy Vista for a few months now and it seems that on a 30 degree day, I can maintain 70 degrees in most of my house with one or two splits at a time, burning them down to coals before I reload. If I put in twice as much wood, it does get hotter but I wouldn't say it gets twice as hot, nor does it burn twice as long. Is there some kind of obvious truth here that I am missing? Maybe hotter fires have more BTUs escape up the chimney or the warmer house leaks more BTUs out the windows because of a greater temperature diff? I welcome any science lessons here.

My wife runs our stove that way. It may be less efficient, but ok if there is enough wood and heat for good secondary combustion. Running larger loads requires a different strategy. The wood needs to be packed fairly tight and the air regulation needs to be more aggressive.

I have been running a Pacific Energy Vista for a few months now and it seems that on a 30 degree day, I can maintain 70 degrees in most of my house with one or two splits at a time, burning them down to coals before I reload. If I put in twice as much wood, it does get hotter but I wouldn't say it gets twice as hot, nor does it burn twice as long. Is there some kind of obvious truth here that I am missing? Maybe hotter fires have more BTUs escape up the chimney or the warmer house leaks more BTUs out the windows because of a greater temperature diff? I welcome any science lessons here.