Smell after emptying stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jwveysey

Jan 10, 2009
Central MA
Hi, everyone. I've found this forum very useful in the past, but this is my first post. I've recently been getting a nasty odor -- like metallic cigarette smoke -- off of my stove after I empty it of ashes. This situation perplexes me because I've been running the same stove in the same way for a few years, and the problem has only just emerged. Moreover, the smell only occurs right after I empty the ashes. It disappears after the stove reaches a good operating temperature and remains there for an hour or so, and it never occurs at any other time (for example, it does not occur if I start a fire when the stove is cold but has some ashes in the firebox).

Here are the particulars of my stove and chimney.

- Hearthstone Homestead
- Stove hearth-mounted in a brick fireplace and connected to circular stovepipe running the length of the chimney (and capped at the top of the chimney)
- Center chimney (our house is a saltbox) with good clearance above the chimney
- Chimney flue lined with clay tiles
- Stove installed by the local Hearthstone dealer
- Fireplace damper opening around the stovepipe sealed with fiberglass insulation