Smoke at start-up

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

NiftyB

Aug 31, 2020
Southern New England
Hi! I'm kind of new to this (after a stint many years ago running a Blaze King Princess). I had my brick chimney sleeved and an Osburn 2000 fireplace insert installed last January. So I am still getting acclimated to the whole thing. So far I am very happy with the stove.

The wood I'm burning is nicely seasoned, I think: <15% (on the moisture meter) for the hickory, maple and birch, and 18% or less on the oak. I'm in southern New England. I assume the draft is good as I never get smoke inside the house when I open the door of the stove. I had the chimney swept over the summer and all looks well. My chimney runs up two stories and well over the roof line (I have no clue how long/tall that makes it).

What I am wondering about: is it normal to have a good deal of smoke (or is it steam?) coming out of the chimney when I first start the fire? It seems to happen all the time: when I start from scratch, or upon reloading on coals. It doesn't last too long...15-20 minutes maybe. Once the fire really gets burning and I close the air vent, it seems to slow down and stop. And the fire burns all day and you'd never know it by looking at my chimney outside. But initially, it's significant. So much so that my neighbor texted me out of concern. Oops. The smoke is white (from the view outside). Inside the stove it looks grayish.

Am I doing something wrong? Or is this normal for the beginning of the fire?

Thank you!