smoke in house

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

oneway

Jan 25, 2014
hilton ny
i have only been burning for 5-6 days now, so i am still very new at this. i have a quadrafire 3100 steptop w/ acc. installed west end of house. this a.m. i reload with small wood - 3-4 inch, smoke billowed from the air control door and the acc door. nice bed of coals in stove. i tried opening stove door to create better draft, no help. ended up taking both logs out and throwing them outside. also was very windy 20-30 mph from the west. it has been windy all weekend and no trouble with smoke. should i have used smaller wood to relight?, i have been reading some of the posts on this site and i am wondering about chimney height. i have 5-1/2 ft double wall and 7 ft class A. still blowing like mad now, a bit scared to try a relight. thanks for the help / advice.

Was the stove and chimney cold when you re-lit? Sometimes it can be hard to get a decent draft started when everything is cool. Holding a piece of lit newspaper up to the flu to prewarm it may help a little.

According to your install manual you are in the range specified that the 3100 step top was tested at. Ideally, you should be at 14 - 16 feet from the floor the stove sits on. You are at 15.25 ft, but due to prevailing winds, the pitch of your roof & the proximity of tall trees, you may be too low. Also, did you rake the coals towards the doghouse & load the wood behind them? I'd try to reload with something about 2 - 3" diameter to see if that helps..