Smokeless Coal Homefire Ecoal 50

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Hesslemount

Jan 4, 2018
Barnsley
Hi There,
Really impressed with my burner. Fitted by HETAS Registered fitter with a flue pipe and straight up down chimney with cowl. I'm a tree surgeon so all the wood I burn is hardwood, air dried, 14+ month's seasoned and less than 14% moisture. Burns amazing if not a bit fast with the anti slumber burn screw in for smokeless.

However when I add smokeless coal, homefire Ecoal 50, I get little flame and a flue thermometer reading of 150 degrees C maximum. I only burn the coal OR wood not both together. Wood burns amazing coal not but coal stays in overnight .

Any pointers please? The coal is correctly sourced and is dry. Just wanting better performance from coal. Oh and yes I'm moving the lever to C for coal.

Regards Richard Thewlis

May i ask what burner you have?

I do get a very slow burn fr the coal but at low temperatures. I must add that I did once out of probably ten times burn the coal VERY hot

So about 17k btu/ hr capacity. On a nominal 6" stack.

How much, what percent VAT would you have to pay, if you were to import a stove, a burner, from outside the UK? What about from Canada?

Realistically, how many cords or cubic meters of wood could you process and season down to 14% annually?

Poking around in woodburnerwarehouse.co.uk i have seen a catalytic equipped wood stove yet, but if you really have virtually unlimited cord wood at 14% i see very little reason to be buying bags of ecocoal - though i am not familiar with air quality regulations in your jurisdiction.