Somerset pellet advice

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

adamcolvin99

Jul 29, 2017
Pikeville, TN
Hey folks, I'm new to pellet heating, and just bought my first pellet stove a Pelpro PP60 for my 1200 square foot house.

I have spent quite a bit of time researching pellet heating, and it seems that success can hinge on finding quality pellets.

The best price and quality combo I can find in my area is Somerset hardwood pellets. I am a couple hours from their factory and have been quoted $200/ton out the door. I have a box truck, so I should be able to make the trip for about $50 in fuel and get the whole winter's worth.

However some recent reviews on somersets are split over whether they are actually a good quality or not. Should I just wait for my area TSC or Lowe's to get stock and see if they are any good for my stove, or would y'all stock up on Somerset?

Area prices are closer to $250-90 from stores for whichever brand that they'll stock this season.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk