Stove Suggestions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Cdeyoung59

Sep 21, 2021
Michigan
So I have been hearing with wood for 3 years now I have a one story ranch with a woodstove in the basement. I have a couple of floor vents and I have one for register that I ran a duct fan to to help bring the heat upstairs other than up the stairs itself. I have roughly a 2400 square-foot house that I’m trying to eat and I’m looking to upgrade to something more efficient than this hungry creosote machine. Any brands you recommend or ones that you suggest avoiding ? I’m looking at bk 40, PE summit le, or ht-3000 ? Anyone run these? Love them hate them? Overall burn times?

60466B7B-31EB-47C2-922D-2F83A24CA3DB.jpeg

Both stoves are good and have many positive reviews and threads on them. The burn time is totally relative to the way the stove is run and what it is heating. This will also depend on the space. Are the basement walls fully insulated?

What is behind the brick wall surrounding the hearth? Is it block or wood studs? What does the stove pipe connect to, metal chimney or masonry chimney and what is the ID of the chimney?

Basement walls are mostly insulated behind that brick is cinderblock and another room the pipe leads out to a chimney that has a stainless steel pipe inside of it or liner I suppose. It probably goes up 20 feet from where it goes in at