Structural Question about Wood Cook Stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Elucidus

Feb 25, 2023
Ohio
Hello, new here. We are looking at getting a wood cook stove (roughly 500-600 lbs seems to be the going weight estimating 3' x 3' in size). We have a two story house, with a basement and no attic. We have a large family and are looking at a decently large wood cook stove, but haven't settled on a model exactly. I am new to all of this and have been trying to figure out what I can do and see if it fits with what I want to do. OH we plan to install tile before we put this, and I am not sure if we would still need a hearth pad, but I assume we do which is probably another 100 lbs.

I have an interesting structural question. Most of my joists are 16" middle to middle, but where I want to put the stove is not. It is 16", to 12", to 20", to 15", back to 16". I have attached some pictures to show what I mean, and some drawings to help more for the measurements. The joists are 2x10s, with 12' 6" distance between the exterior wall and the support posts. I am not sure how to calculate how much weight per square foot since the joists are weird. Any help or advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

Joists:
wood cook stove-sm.jpg
joists.PNG

measurements.PNG

To the support post:
middle-sm.jpg

To the exterior wall:
exterior wall-sm.jpg

I’d start with asking the town building inspector what he wants to see. Sometimes they can be pretty demanding. It’s best to know what you’re getting into from the start.