Thank you all, and Coaly too. Finished install, thanks!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Asltrfl

Sep 10, 2015
Utah
Just a short shout out to all of you for helping me. I've been trolling here for the last three months, and without your help and this website I wouldn't have been able to do it. I picked up an old Fisher Grandpa Bear for 300 bucks on craigslist in excellent condition. I live in Utah, it gets freaking cold up here at 6,000 ft. plus. Me, the Wife and my three kids just bought a 4/2 house with only a heat pump / AC in may this year. Yeaa! a real house, not a mobile. But our previous Mobile home had a small wood burning stove that worked great, although we had no idea what the hell we were doing. When we bought this house, we knew that a wood stove would be what we wanted for real heat, especially if the power went out, which it does out here in the middle of nowhere from time to time in the middle of winter.

I searched the forums on how to build a hearth, and we did it. Then we searched the forums on how to buy stovepipe, chimney, and cut out our roof sheathing, the shingles, and do it right. I used Selkirk DSP stovepipe, a 90 degree elbow from the rear exit Fisher, and then Selkirk JSC through the roof with a total of 14' of chimney / stovepipe.