Tom123 My Intro

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Tom123

Burning Hunk
Oct 11, 2014
East Granby CT
Hello All: I have been monitoring this forum for a couple years now, I have wanted to chime in from time to time so I guess it's time to introduce myself. I have been around wood burning on and off for most of my life. In early 1973 Connecticut had an ice storm and my family was without electricity for about 5 days. That summer (I was 14) my father decided he wanted an alternative source of heat so I helped him add a Heatilator fireplace to the house, there was no existing fireplace. The house had a central chimney for the oil burner. I helped him dig the footing, cut a hole in the side of the house, and lay brick. My dad worked in aerospace and was an accomplished sheet metal guy so he added duct work to the upstairs of the cape house, and outlets into the living room. That fireplace worked great and I was hooked on wood heating.