Too darn hot

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Megaputz

Feb 13, 2013
I have only been burning for a month now. Before that I have little experience other than my grams oil/wood furnace and cousins fire place. Don't think you can count open pit burning...

I bought a US Stove 1,100 to heat my 600 square foot home as a way to subsidize the electric baseboard heat. http://www.lowes.com/pd_154309-850-APS1100B_0__?productId=3271167&cm_mmc=SCE_PLA-_-HeatingCooling-_-WoodFireplacesStoves-_-3271167&CAWELAID=1072248704&kpid=3271167&"cagpspn=pla"
It was the smallest stove I could find but it seems to be way more than enough. On average like a weekend I'm using 6-8 splts a day to heat the house.

From what I have been reading I'm doing everything wrong but if I burn hot and get the magnetic thermostat to the 'burn zone' I have to open the windows. That seems like such a terrible waste of fuel. I'm burning silver maple I cut down and split in the summer of 2011. It was for my brother but he hurt his back and did not feel up to lugging wood.