tractor supply pellets

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

bobnoffs

Feb 18, 2014
woodruff, wisconsin
i have been burning marth pellets for past 10 yrs. always consistant quality hardwood pellets. i have to drive 20 miles past tractor supply and the marth is 20% more expensive than t.s. but i usually don't burn for heat as much as 4-5 hrs in the evening for just having a fire in a stove. pellet prices in the last few years have made pellets so much more expensive than even bottled gas i flinch at burning full time. anyway..........the t.s pellets were ok for me. they do leave more ash but no more than i have gotten from an earth sense store when i had to substitute for marth. for the next trip for 1/2 a ton anyway i won't be driving the extra 20 miles.

I've been using TSC house brand, white bag with purple branding, for years and are decent. More ash than usual this year but still ok...

It amazes me the difference in fuel costs and different parts of the country. Here, out West, pellets are by far cheaper than any other type of fuel!

Tier 2 electricity pricing is 24 cents a kilowatt hour. Natural gas is currently $4.60 a therm. Propane is $2.39 at Costco/$2.69 delivered with a 250 gallon minimum. But, pellets are five bucks a bag!