Trouble!!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Tendencies

Aug 29, 2006
NW Wisc
Well it had to happen, almost the end of the heating season here and my Dutchwest DW2500-X takes a dump... Seems the fire box which is welded at the corners to another box wrapped around it for the warm air to be forced into the room let loose! 3 welds completely let go on the left side looking at it and now it's dropped about an inch on that side to the floor. I'm a welder with over 30 years experience including 20 in the Navy and I have seen some pretty crappy welds in my time and these are right near the top! No penetration what so ever!! I called the local rep, they in turn called VC (maybe a VC rep) and their response was "are you starting your fires with gasoline?" I about had a fit! (I'm also on the local VFD) I know how to start a fire (With Super fire starters!!) Any ways, have not heard anything in over a week so I sent the rep an e-mail last night and, her response from VC/rep was

"Bill,
I got this e-mail today. Read below & let me know your thoughts.
Do you think this could work?
Thank-you -
xxxx
----- Original Message -----
To: xxxx xxxx
Sent: Thursday, March 22, 2007 9:43 AM
Subject: RE: DUTCHWEST INSERT

xxxx xxxxxxxx said he would pay for a qualified welder to tack weld that side back together. Send us the invoice with a warranty claim form and we’ll credit you back. I was under the impression the customer was currently a welder. That not being the case, is there someone in your area you or Chris knows?

Thank you,

xxxx xxx"