Trying to figure a wood stove install in a 1717 home's fireplace.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

firefilly

Mar 19, 2008
central ma
Fireplace is 67" wide front, 44" wide back, 44 1/2 " tall and brick floor hearth comes out 49". Looking into a jotul f 600 firelight cb, but the online manual says it needs 50" hearth. I'm new to all this woodstove stuff, and could use any tips directions as to how to proceed.
Any other stove ideas would help too. With oil so high, we've been freezing. House around 3000 sq ft. Thanks! Chimney liner ideas for a huge flue would also help us out.

To me it sounds like the F600 would fit fine. Since the unit will be for the most part in a masonry fireplace, clearances will be reduced on the side and in the back. You'll need 18 inches non-combustible in front of the stove, which you'll probably be able to do with a 49" hearth. Sounds like you'll need a 6" liner dropped in your flue. Others will surely respond with more technical expertise, but I think you're good to go with the F600. Nice stove, it will heat like crazy.

Welcome firefilly most stove stores will come to your house to see what you have to get done to pass code...once there you can pick their mind to see if you're up for a DIY install..