Using a chimney with cracked liner

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

edavidsonsawyer

Sep 24, 2018
maine
I recently moved into a home that relies on a stove for heating. I'm new to this. I checked out the chimney and it looks to me like the lining is cracked and pretty well covered with creosote (photo attached). I don't mind installing a stainless steel liner, but I don't want to do that until the chimney is clean. Unfortunately, this time of year cleaning services book up and I can't get anyone sooner than late October.

So my question: Is this the kind of thing that makes the chimney too dangerous to use for a month while I have it cleaned and install a liner?

And while I'm here, can a SS liner just be installed within the old ceramic, and if so does it need more insulation?

I appreciate any wisdom you all can share.
IMG_20180924_101003.jpg

I'm not your guy for am answer, but, the 1st thing the pros are gonna ask is what size is the existing opening ?

I think the opening is 7x7". The chimney has two flues, but this is the one I would be using. I've measured from the top and bottom, though when I look up the flue the opening isn't square. Maybe the lining isn't straight?

I recently moved into a home that relies on a stove for heating. I'm new to this. I checked out the chimney and it looks to me like the lining is cracked and pretty well covered with creosote (photo attached). I don't mind installing a stainless steel liner, but I don't want to do that until the chimney is clean. Unfortunately, this time of year cleaning services book up and I can't get anyone sooner than late October.