Using ash to clean stubborn soot of P43 glass

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

gfc

Aug 6, 2021
NH
I am new to pellet stoves and have been running a Harman P43 with Woods and Sons pellets (soft pine) at the rate of about a bag a day. I run on room temperature mode with ignitor off so stove does not cycle down. Once a week I let the stove cool at night and clean in the morning. The soot on the glass has been almost impossible to clean (despite scrubbing with full force) and a search on the internet led me to this tip: dipping a clean, damp cloth in the ash and using that to clean. After failing to clean my glass this morning despite a vigorous scrubbing, I used the ash method and by god it works! My fear is that this will scratch the glass. Is it safe to use the ash method to clean?

I realize it could be the pellets, but I have over a ton and they keep me warm so I won't change yet. I get about an inch of ash in the pan each week.

I used to use ash from my wood stove. It is safe. I assume ash from a pellet stove is safe, too. There is a product that does a better job and is not as messy. Just a bit (about the size of a quarter) on a moist paper towel loosens all the junk off the glass real fast. Then, simply wipe clean with a dry paper towel. A bottle costs about $9 and should last you all season. It is so much easier than using ash.

Rutland Products Hearth and Grill Conditioning Glass Cleaner​

715UftDHrjL._AC_SL1500_.jpg

Last edited:
Reactions: maraakate