Using rope when felling

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Studdlygoof

Jan 26, 2014
Elkton MD
Hi all! Long time lurker, first time poster. I'm new to heating with firewood and after installing a wood furnace I have found a lot of good information here to answer many questions. One that I have not been able to find however is the use of a rope when felling a tree to help in making it lay where you want. I know in a perfect world you should not need one if you notch it correctly; however being a novice I do not quiet trust my skills and want the added backup of rope tension. My question is this:

I'm not too keen on hooking a rope to my truck. Is there a proper way to do it without the truck? In my mind I envision some sort of setup with a spike driven in the ground with a rope and pulley setup to add tension. Maybe I'm over doing it, but like I said, as a novice I would like the backup plan aspect.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I've done it once, so I may nt be of much help to you. It was a small (maybe ~12in) sweetgum and my brother was pulling on one end while I cut. First tree I ever felled, cut that thing down with a remington electric chainsaw ;lol. Thats what got me started in all this.

Anyways, if you're wanting to do it with larger trees, you may want to look in to cable rather than rope, and some sort of come-a-long system. I'll let those more experienced than I chime in further

Always remember that trees want to kill you back.