VC Intrepid 2 vs Jotul F100

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

VASteve

Feb 2, 2023
Round Hill VA
Hi Everyone, I'm looking at two small stoves right now and I'm struggling to make a decision on the better stove. Both are used. The F100 has seen very little use, but both work well. I'm new to wood stoves so any feedback is appreciated.

Option 1: Intrepid 2 with catalyst (Needs repainted, new rope, cleaned, unsure of age) Asking $1000.

Option 2: Jotul F100 non-catalyst (Excellent condition, only a few years old, a few hours drive) Asking $1500.

This will be used in my living room to supplement a heat pump, not as a primary heat source. Is the catalyst stove the better option? Ease of use is a priority, but efficiency is always appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Hi Everyone, I'm looking at two small stoves right now and I'm struggling to make a decision on the better stove. Both are used. The F100 has seen very little use, but both work well. I'm new to wood stoves so any feedback is appreciated.

Option 1: Intrepid 2 with catalyst (Needs repainted, new rope, cleaned, unsure of age) Asking $1000.

Option 2: Jotul F100 non-catalyst (Excellent condition, only a few years old, a few hours drive) Asking $1500.

This will be used in my living room to supplement a heat pump, not as a primary heat source. Is the catalyst stove the better option? Ease of use is a priority, but efficiency is always appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Not sure what the Intrepid costs, but FWIW, I paid about the asking price new for my F100. Of course, you can't get them currently in the US, so that may be a factor.