VC Montpelier Questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Cold Mark

Nov 13, 2017
Richmond, VA
First time stove user with questions. I'm new to the world of modern wood stoves, but have done a lot of reading and now I need some help.

I just had a Vermont Castings Montpelier insert installed this year. So far I have done four break in burns, and one weekend of all day long fires.My observation that I need some expert advice about, is that it seems that the primary air flow is not balanced.

It seems visually that there is more air on the left side (facing the stove) than on the right. I base this on visually observing the fire on the left side being more active or robust.

When reloading, the fire picks up on the left long before the right hand side. Also The glass is getting dirty on the right. This may be related to the airflow, or that I think i have been too timid and maybe under-firing the stove (i know there has been a fair amount of discussion about dirty glass, so I want to focus on the air flow inside the stove).

Can anyone explain the basics of the design of the stove with respect to air flow?

Thanks, looking forward to the discussion

Last edited: