Wall 1" air space venting?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Mike50

Feb 22, 2018
Ks
I'm new to wood stoves. I recently bought a Woodstock soapstone keystone (used) Wood stove. I'll be installing in a corner. On walls I'll have the 1" air space, 1/2" cement board, and stone. I plan on having a mantle as well. Hearth will be built up 6" with 1/2" cement board and tile on top. My question is how do you vent the 1" air space with mantle being on top and the hearth on bottom? Is there a need for it to vent or can it be completely sealed? Thanks -mike

Hi Mike. Yes the wall shield needs to be open top and bottom in order for air to freely convect behind it. Normally folks just start the wall shield an inch above the hearth. Under the mantel you could make slots to exhaust the warmed air or you could cut slots on the top of the mantel to make them less visible.

Thanks for the reply. Since I'm going to be building the hearth up 6", does it need to be vented as well?

Thanks for the reply. Since I'm going to be building the hearth up 6", does it need to be vented as well?
the hearth floor does not need to be vented since your using cement board to build your thickness the tile on top, you exceed the required k-factor from wood stock, don't forget to design the hearth to have an extra 16" in front of the loading door to catch embers should any spill out.
One question, are your clearences that close to a combustible wall to have the extra shielding or is this just for extra protection?