What it means to rebuild a wood stove?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

buildingmaint

Feeling the Heat
Hearth Supporter
Jan 19, 2007
Oil City PA
This might be a dumb question ,but I'm going to ask it any ways. I 'm a pellet stove guy so I have no working knowledge of how wood stoves are constructed. I thought that the only things on a wood stove was a metal box with fire brick inside and a fan to blow the heat into the room.Reading all of your posts to my last question about life expectancy of wood stoves it seems like there is more then I thought. So what other parts are there to a wood stove?What do you have to replace when you rebuild and why do you have to replace them ? What does over firing a stove mean? when it is glowing red?How do you know if you are over firing?What are baffles used for in a wood stove? Yes I expect some good nature ribbing about my lack of knowledge.

Depends BIG time.

On a cast iron stove, a rebuild might mean a complete disassembly, followed by completely removing all old cement and then replacing all of the cement with fresh, as well as all of the gaskets. Obviously any warped or crack parts should be replaced at this time.

For a steel stove, a rebuild usually means cutting out and welding in new pieces to replace those that are warped. It can also mean replacing gaskets.

Baffles in a wood stove serve to route the gases in such a fashion that they are exposed to the interior of the stove longer. They also slow down the flow of gases so that many of modern stoves can have secondary combustion.

buildingmaint said: