What kind of chain saw should I get?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Max Goldman

May 16, 2007
I’m new to wood heating and would like advice on what kind of chainsaw I should get. I use an insert (Lopi Declaration) and anticipate I will need 4-5 cords of wood a year. Any information (brand, model, where to buy, etc.) would be much appreciated.

Hi -

Lots of folks will say Stihl but I find them a bit heavy and costly. Husky 346XP, 353, or 359 saws will all do it. A servicing dealer isn't a big deal to me so I wnet with the Dolmar 5100S. Light and powerfull. Tough as any saw out there.

I like a 50cc plus saw with a 16 or 18" bar.

What part of the country? What are you cutting? If you don't work on them yourself dealer support is a great thing.

ATB,
Mike P

Get one that will correctly run the bar sizes you will need. For most people that means a 16-18" bar for 90+ percent of cutting with the possibility of needing a larger bar for the other percentage. Lots of saws will fit this bill. As Mike stated above, Husky, Dolmar, Stihl all make good saws.

Look at power and weight as well as service (if needed) to be your guide. In other words - if you have a reputable dealer for stihl down the road from you, that should weigh heavily on your decision.

Look at the "upgrade" or "pro" models if the price is acceptable. These machines are designed for heavy use, but the other side of that is anti-vibration, repairable, stronger cases, etc.