What options should I look for in a new stove? I have 10yrs experience with wood

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Ducky

Nov 4, 2010
Buffalo, NY
So I have 10 years experience running a wood stove. However I dont want the mess. Not to mention the giant spiders, and stuff in my house. Oil is out of the question and that what I have now. So I was thinking of putting a pellet stove in my living room, and hooking it to my fireplace. My house has 2800sq ft of living space and its forced air, not sure if that means anything though.

They make pellet inserts that fit in the fireplace. 2800 sq ft with one stove will be a tall order. How much wood did you burn a year?

Trying to decide if two cheaper stoves might be an option.

Whats your budget?

Reactions: vinny11950
2,800 is a tall order and doesn't tell the whole story about your house. Is the house well insulated and tight, or is it drafty? Is it open layout or are there lots of rooms or is that area all cut up into small rooms. (and are those rooms right off the living room or are there long hallways). Lots of things to take into consideration when changing form a wood stove to a pellet stove because they don't heat the same. And depending on the layout of your house and tightness of the house envelope, two stoves could very well be better than 1 (as @EbS-P pointed out).