Why open the damper after putting in more wood?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

DeanBrown3D

Oct 16, 2006
Princeton, NJ
I'm new to my VC catalyst fireplace, and I am wondering why my instructions say to leave the damper open for 15 minutes every time I add new wood (to a hot fire). My only guess is that if I left it shut,too much smoke would get the catalyst and overheat it, but I don't really know.

Do you guys all do this or not?

Thanks!

Dean

My manual says the same thing, but also state it is to drive off any moisture in the wood to prevent thermal shock to the cat. Not good for the cat. Also says smoke will poor out the loading door.

I don't mean while the loading door is open, I mean after I have put wood in and closed the door, I'm supposed to leave the damper open for a while.

Dean the damper is the by pass to the cat all the smoke and moisture when starting a new log will clogg that cat up and render it useless. A cat does require more attention
however inorder to get the new logs in proper buening situation the damper should be open in most stoves cat or non cat.
What i do is open the cat 30 seconds first then add the wood this prevents smoke spillage into you room if you open the door dampered down