Why the Blue Smoke?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

RedRanger

Nov 19, 2007
British Columbia
No laughter please-okay so I have been burning wood for heat for the past 30 years, but this is my first year with the new epa insert--so mercy please :)

This evening got it up to 550, secondaries kick in and blower previously came on at 475-all is well. Wood is bone dry, cedar mill ends re-spit and reading 15%, also a piece of douglas fir in there and it was re-split and measured 19%. Go outside and look and no smoke. So after 45 minutes of this I turn it all the way down and go to the store, come back and see blue smoke. Go inside and check the stove top temp and it reads 460 (nice and hot). but we have the blue smoke. hmmm

I open it wide up for 10 minutes, turn it down half-way. go outside and no smoke. top temp reads 475. Now I shut it down all the way again. and opps, now it is too dark to see any thing %-P

So, with my wood being nice and dry, and temps not dropping below 460, so why the blue smoke?? Hey, I`m just curious, not an enviro freak, just trying to figure out this technology?

BG--are you still awake?? Any suggestions?

Well, stop putting the stalks in the stove! :coolsmile:

Just guessing here, but it's only 55 outside, basement stove and air pressure is low. Maybe low draft? FWIW, I don't bother trying to burn in this weather.

Maybe it's your hair that's on fire...a pic sure would help. Rick

BeGreen said:
Well, stop putting the stalks in the stove! :coolsmile: