Wood boiler/heat pump combo

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

dregier

Feb 17, 2022
BC Canada
Planning a new home build and I'm completely new to hydronics. I've been getting lots of great info from the posts on this site and figured it was finally time to ask a question. I'm wondering if anyone on this site has experience connecting a wood boiler and an air-to-water heat pump on the same system.

Here's the plan. Radiant in floor throughout the house, garage, and shop. Low temp design (say 110ish?). I'm planning to use a Froling FHG 40/50 with 400 gallons of storage (lots of firewood on my 48 acres). Air-to-water heat pump with electric backup for heating in the shoulder season and when I'm not around to feed the Froling. AWHP also provide summer cooling with high velocity air handler.

I can't seem to find a good way to hook the systems together. I don't want/need glycol in the froling/400G side but need it on the AWHP side so a heat exchanger will need to be on one side or the other. The AWHP needs a buffer to prevent short-cycling but 400G of buffer is more than a little too much. I thought a good solution would be to connect the AWHP with electric backup boiler through the upper 1/4 of the 400G tank so that it is only buffering with about 80 gallons of the tank. The Froling would be connected top to bottom to utilize the full volume. Would this work?