Wood ID Please

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

beatlefan

Feeling the Heat
Oct 2, 2015
Urbana, Ohio
I have the chance to pick up some free wood from a friend. Not sure what it is. Pics 1 & 2 are from the same tree and I think it's some form of maple. It's very heavy.

Pics 3, 4 & 5 are the 2nd tree. I have no idea what it is. The wood is from a branch that fell and it seems very light weight to me. I'm not sure this would be good to burn.

Thanks, 1.JPG 2.JPG 3.JPG 4.JPG 5.JPG

I'm going to throw out some guess of black maple for #1 and box alder for #2. I'd wait for the experts though, I'm still learning when it comes to tree IDs [emoji6]

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

I'd call 3,4,5 likely to be Hackberry. Not sure on the first tree.

Reactions: nrford
Tree #1 - I'd go with black maple (Acer nigra). Sometimes listed as a separate species, and sometimes a variety of sugar maple (Acer saccharum). It depends whether you're a taxonomic lumper or splitter.
A. nigra will have leaves that are more rounded (often cupped), less pronounced, fewer sinuses, with much thicker leaf cuticle than that of sugar maple. A stipule (like a tiny vestigial leaf growing out of the base of the petiole) is definite iD characteristic for black maple.

Tree #2 - Definitely hackberry (Celtis occidentals). Warty bark. Leaves often pimpled too (nipple gall), caused by a psyllid insect https://extension.entm.purdue.edu/publications/HN-86.pdf

Both trees common for us in Ohio.