Wood ID

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mattsmth

Jan 17, 2013
Hello Everyone, I am new to the stove and firewood world but have been lurking and learning from here for a while now. I came across some free firewood this weekend and was hoping you guys could tell me what it is.
zOfyd2r.jpg

Pine of some sort is my thought, too. The cut ends are washed out in your picture so it's hard to see the wood itself, but those rings of branches all around the trunk at the same level are typical of conifers.

Split it and burn it next winter when you need a quick hot fire...not when you need a long lasting overnight burn.

Reactions: ScotO and Thistle
Count your blessings it was standing dead. Freshly cut living white pine is awfully messy stuff to deal with. The sap is like hide glue and there's lots of it.

Reactions: ScotO
Count your blessings it was standing dead. Freshly cut living white pine is awfully messy stuff to deal with. The sap is like hide glue and there's lots of it.

Tell me about it.....;lol

Welcome to the forum Matt.

Yes, that is pine and it will burn fine next winter. It might be best to keep in mind to not completely fill the stove with pine otherwise it might get a tad hot, so mix it or just build small fires.

For the future, if you get some pine that is not dead you will get lots of sap. Clean the tools with WD-40 and your hands with Miracle Whip. Throw the clothing in the laundry and let your wife worry about it. :rolleyes:

Throw the clothing in the laundry and let your wife worry about it. :rolleyes: