Wood storage tank, w/pics

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Dec 28, 2008
west central MN
This is my first attempt at pictures, I hope it works. I should also add a disclaimer, I am not an engineer, and I hope this tank holds water in the end. All feedback is welcome.

I was pretty much forced into an unpressurized system. There is no way to get a tank down into our basement, in fact I still haven't gotten the Tarm down there yet. The boiler room is narrow, and I didn't want to give up the space that a round tank requires. So that led me to a plywood tank. I'll be using copper tube HXs, purchased from Bioheat, for boiler input and DHW.

The walls of the tank are basically stud walls, 2x4s 12" on center, fastened to the floor with 1/2" concrete anchors. I used 5/8" plywood to line the tank. Two layers of 1" poly-iso foam line the interior of the tank. I'll add r-13 un-faced fiberglass in between the 'studs'. That should give me a little less than r-26 for the walls. I put 3 layers of foam on the floor for an R-19.5. The interior of the tank ended up being 92"x45"x45" which I calculate at 805 gallons.

Some pics of the pressure treated bottom plate:

Attachments

• IMG_1640.jpg
    IMG_1640.jpg
    33.4 KB · Views: 1,347
  • IMG_1641.jpg
    IMG_1641.jpg
    25.7 KB · Views: 1,353
Here are a couple pictures of the walls going up. The floors were not level of course, so it took a lot of tweaking to make everything come together.

Attachments

• IMG_1648.jpg
    IMG_1648.jpg
    26.5 KB · Views: 1,329
  • IMG_1650.jpg
    IMG_1650.jpg
    35.4 KB · Views: 1,338