Yep, I'm a pellet newbie

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

justdeb

Jul 18, 2008
Northeast CT
Hi, an installation question -- I've read so much in the past few days that now I am TOTALLY confused. Have a 2-story 1800 sf home. 100+ years old, rock-walled, cement floored basement. Insulation on ceiling of basement and floor of attic. Currently has elderly oil fired steam boiler. I NEVER want to put oil in the oil tank.

Problem is, if I don't run furnace, and install suitable pellet stove on first floor with vents to second floor, what happens to the plumbing running through the basement? Especially the pipes that run say from the well in front of house to the kitchen at the opposite end? Will heat tape be enough? do i need the plug in kind? doesn't that waste just more electricity anyhow? Somebody once told me my basement would always be 55 degrees F anyhow, is that true? I have an electric water heater. If I don't use furnace, will I have to wrap it? with what? and more ...
maybe I should number these questions ;)

Do I need to put some kind of fan/heat exchanger (whatever that is) in the vents I'm planning on cutting between first and second floors?

This house does not have an open floor plan, but on first floor, there are doors between ALL rooms that can be open/closed. Would it help if I posted a pic /link to of at least the outside of the house?

Do you want me to shut up now?

Seriously, am 99% sure I want to go the pellet route. Either that, or ventless propane, but then I'd need two of em, and propane is going up way to rapidly for me.