Advice needed on Tarm plan

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

free75degrees

Apr 6, 2008
Boston Area
I could use some help from all of the hydronic gurus out there, so if anybody has time to critique my piping plan, I would greatly appreciate it.

I am a novice so I want to keep things as simple as possible with my Tarm solo 40 install. In the diagram below, everything from the oil boiler to the right is the current setup (except for the zone valve just above the oil boiler). The current setup has been in place for a couple years and works fine. My plan is to add everything else to the left. There are basically 4 states for the system which are described in the table on the diagram.

Does anybody see any problems with this plan? Any suggestions?

Attachments

• tarmLayout1.GIF
    tarmLayout1.GIF
    18.8 KB · Views: 789
what controls the opening and closing of all those ZV's? to make sure they work in the right sequence together?

I have an arm based single board computer similar to the one that nofo uses. I'll use that with some relays to control the zone valves and circs. I'll also have some ds18s20 temp sensors in the tank, on the boiler in and out lines, and as thermostat replacements to help the system figure out which state to be in.

The one thing I see that may cause a problem is when heating house with tank the coils and a zone valve will be on the suction
side of the 010 and expansion tank on the outlet.
I dont see a simple way to change that without changing your existing plumbing. With that said my own system was plumbed with the circulators