Advice or sugestions on selecting stove size

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

goose

Mar 2, 2008
Northern Panhandle WV
I am a rookie to this stuff,so if I am not following proper etiquette feel free to let me know.
I have been looking at stoves and have decided to go with a PE model ,the size is what I am not sure of. I am located in zone 6 and have a 2075 sq.ft. cape-cod style home. I want to locate the stove centrally on first floor and exhaust it straight up through roof.Iwould like to use this as my main and only heat source,my house is well insulated with 9 double hung andreson windows.I really like the T-6 but I am afraid it will be to big,especially in the fall and spring when I wont need as much heat.
If I put the same amount of wood of same species in the T-5 and T-6 would they give off the same amount of heat or would the larger stove give off more ?
As long as I get wood to burn real well before I turn it down to the lowest setting every time I burn ,and assuming I am using dry wood ,is it safe to continually burn in the lowest setting? Can a person keep a small fire in theT-6 burning as easy as a small fire in the T-5 and do ao safely? With the EBT can a person burn smaller loads as efficiently on the lowest setting as with a smaller size stove? Also, if I were to use my furnace fan to circulate air into my basement because it would be unheated, as this could help to heat my basement, would I need a larger stove to achieve this, or would it make no difference as to what stove would be needed for this purpose? Any comments would be appreciated.