Best Value Fireplace Insert

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Fishin

Aug 26, 2008
VA
I'm new to burning wood and would like yall's opinion on what fireplace insert, with a blower, would be the best one to get, for the money. I have a brick fireplace with a 3' width and a 2' height. Very informative forum. Thanks for your inputs.

We need to know a few things to make suggestions. Value will be solely in your eyes and wallet.

What size house and floor plan?

Masonry or pre-fab metal fireplace?

Supplemental heat or 24/7 100% heating with wood?.

Threshold of pain price wise for the total installation including chimney liner?

How much of a "nice addition to the room" factor? Check with the spouse on this one.

Where y'at? Different parts of VA get different kinds of cold. Of course tonight the whole dang state is going to be cold and windy. Possible show showers up in Northern VA.

I have a 1450sf single story with a crawl space. The fireplace is masonry and I live in Gloucester,Va. Hopin not to get too pricey. Thanks.

Chimney in the center of the house? or on an end?
1450 feet on one floor might be tough to distribute the heat around...you can still do it...just need to decide on where you want the most heat.

I do not have much more experience then you do but after looking at several stoves I chose the Pacific Energy Summit. We have a great dealer out here and the price was right. We have only fired it a few times but it is evident this thing is qutie a heat pump. Good luck and welcome.