Brand New to Wood Stoves/Question and Advice Needed

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jersey_Marine

Nov 29, 2013
Northwest New Jersey
Hi to all,
I am brand new to owning and operating a wood stove. I purchased a house with an older model Dutchwest Stove (Model# FA224ACL). I did some google research on this stove and found out it is from 1984-1986. I fired the stove up the other day and I am getting an excessive amount of smell in my house and at times it smokes out the 2 wheels on the left hand side of it that's used to let air into the stove and sets off the smoke alarm. My chimney is completely brand new as it was replaced as a stipulation for me purchasing the house because the old one was completely rotted. I also am getting a nice draft in the flue so I don't know what it can be. I was told a stove is only good for 22-25 years so maybe this stove has seen better days. For the last 2 days I haven't used it because the smell/smoke was giving me a bad headache inside my house. Using the information I was told about how long stoves are slated to last, I started poking around online for stove information and went to a local store by me to look at them. I saw a nice stove that interested me in the store. It was a Dutchwest Catalytic XL Model # 2462. I was also on Lowes.com and saw a stove made by a Candadian Company called Drolet. It was the Drolet Model # DB07200 and it's good to heat 2400sq. feet. I also looked at the Vermont Castings Defiant but the legs are just a little wider than the Dutchwest 2462 and too wide for the hearth that is there. The Defiant is a littl