1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)
  1. coldinmich

    coldinmich New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Loc:
    michigan
    Bought a cab 50 in nov and had problems since day one. Likes to shut down a lot, leaving the house very cold. I was told it may be the hopper lid switch. Where can I get a parts catalog to order parts.
    Also, tons of ash. I can burn one bag and the firepot has lots of ash and needs cleaning. I have tried different types of pellets and always the same.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3,890
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    Bypass the lid switch and try it out.
  3. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather Guest

    dang, my friend, where is the dealer here? that should be covered UNDER WARRANTY at no cost to you.....
  4. saladdin

    saladdin Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    341
    Loc:
    West Tennessee
    CAB50s are new. So if you fix the problem come back here and post it. There are a few cab owners here that may be able to use the info later.


    No issues with mine (one self-inflicted wound) , just finished 2nd year.

    Call dealer.

    Try to bypass the lid switch. If that doesn't work answer these:

    When does it shut down? After initial pellet drop?

    What state is it in when it shuts down? Fresh unburnt pellets in the pot? Ashe over flowing the pot?

    Tested your door rope? This is what caused my self inflicted wound. I did the washer trick and it cured it.

    How much is "a lot of ash"? Take a picture. Mine gets the hard build up and I scrap it once a week but I rarely see any true ash.

    What does your window look like? Clear?

    Have you witnessed the shutdown and hit the reset button on back? Did that fix it?
  5. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3,890
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    If you have had problem since day one...I wonder if your thermostat or T-stat connections are to blame. Try bridging the T-stat terminals on the back of the unit and see if it will start up and endlessly run.
  6. coldinmich

    coldinmich New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Loc:
    michigan
    warranty is not worth the paper it is printed on. when I called the 1 800 number in the owners manual I was told I had to do the repair work.
  7. imacman

    imacman Guest

    So let me get this straight.....you got the stove, had problems right away, and you didn't get the dealer to come out to fix it?

    And this is the phone # you called? 1-877-427-3316
    Lousyweather likes this.
  8. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather Guest

    crazy, but on page 4 of your manual (the warrantee), it includes labor in the warranty. Not travel time tho
  9. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3,890
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    But it is. Call the attorney general.
  10. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3,890
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    Did you buy this Cab 50 used?
  11. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,583
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    Not all cab's are sold at dealers. They are also available at the boxstores and internet houses IIRC. So like the other box store brands I believe the owner assumes the repair. But Heatalator should supply the parts like the other box brands?
  12. Lake Girl

    Lake Girl Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,512
    Loc:
    NW Ontario
    The Ds likes this.
  13. Lake Girl

    Lake Girl Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,512
    Loc:
    NW Ontario
    Do you have an OAK installed?

    From the manual:

    IF ANY PART OF THE EXHAUST SYSTEM IS RESTRICTED, THE STOVE WILL BURN DIRTY WITH TALL LAZY FLAMES. THE STOVE MAY ALSO EXPERIENCE PROBLEMS WITH LIGHTING THE PELLET FUEL DUE TO THE REDUCED AIR FLOW THROUGH THE FIREPOT.

    IF ANY PART OF THE EXHAUST SYSTEM IS BLOCKED, THE STOVE WILL NOT FEED BECAUSE THE VACUUM SWITCH WILL NOT ENGAGE. NORMALLY THE STOVE WILL HAVE BETWEEN .08 TO .16 INCHES OF WATER COLUMN IN THE FIREBOX WITH STOVE SET ON THE HIGH FEED RATE.



    Follow the exhaust path and make sure it's clean:)
  14. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather Guest

    sure, once to "problem" is diagnosed (and if ya Big Boxed it, far as I am concerned, yer on yer own) ........I guess we are waiting for the OP to tell us where he or she got it?
  15. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,059
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Rough crowd not a single Welcome to the forums.

    Welcome coldinmich, it appears that folks are snapping at the bit, they don't get a lot of burn issues this time of the year.

    Could you please provide a list of the pellets you have tried along with a detailed part by part list of the exhaust system.

    There is also a piece of metal that can be used to block off part of the air intake (under the burn pot) this should normally be fully open or completely removed and hopefully sitting somewhere in the area under the burn pot.

    From your description it sounds like you have an air flow issue. There are a number of CAB owners on here and if you answer their questions I'm certain you will be burning fine.
  16. Lake Girl

    Lake Girl Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,512
    Loc:
    NW Ontario
    Smokey's right - welcome to the forum coldinmich:)

    If you were having problems, why didn't you drop in sooner;)

    Search the forum for other issues with the cab50 - older version control box, pinched wires, etc. to check and rule out potential sources of your problems. Keep us posted on your progress...
  17. samdweezel05

    samdweezel05 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    96
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    I do not have a Cab 50 but I do have it's little brother, the PS-35. My issues have been the same as yours. We have tried 7 or 8 different kinds of pellets but the pot needs to be dumped every day with out fail or it will burn lazy. The ash build up after a week is extremely bad. It has done this since day one as well. The dealer has been here several times and they have never found a problem and approved of my installation. Feed rate is set as it should be if not a little low. Only pellets that we have used that worked at all are the green supremes from Lowes. I am told by other members that they are not the best pellets on the market but they work 10 times better than the cubex pellets in my stove.
    zmedic likes this.
  18. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3,890
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    Cubex has a bad lot last year and thousands of tons were replaced....give them another try. You also may want to look in to an outside air connection too, if you do not already have one.
  19. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather Guest

    somewhere around page 12 on your manual, there should be a maintenance chart.......correct me if Im wrong, but I believe it states that the burnpot should be dumped daily, or with each bag of pellets burned. It doesn't seem like its really operating any differently than expected, just an issue if you don't follow the instructions as per the manual. From a money standpoint, if you want less maintenance, there are other types/brands out there which require less maintenance......but they cost more. Ya get what ya pays for?
  20. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Don't know if this is possible, but is there any way on those units to increase airflow through the pot? A trim setting that can be cranked up? I know on my 10-cpm, when burning poorer quality pellets, or when I burned grass pellets, turning the comb. air setting up a few notches solved the pot build-up problem.
  21. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather Guest

    other than to minimize restrictions, no
  22. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3,890
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    The control box has multiple settings, yes?. I think there is a 10% more option...
  23. imacman

    imacman Guest

    If that's the case, I'd be trying that.....help blow more ash out of the pot.
  24. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather Guest


    im figuring that obvious setting has already been accomplished
  25. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Never "assume" anything
    kinsmanstoves likes this.

Share This Page