Can I use a 6" liner on a Buck model 91?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Bmore

Burning Hunk
Jun 14, 2014
Baltimore MD
Hey All,
Newbie here, I was given a Buck 91 in good shape from my uncle. It's a huge old cat that has a 8" flue. My chimney would be very difficult and costly to install a 8" liner. Could get a 6" down there. I know this is not proper, or up to code but would it work? I'd hate to spend too much time and money on a 8" line to find out the old Buck wasn't worth it. If the 6" on the insert gets too smokey then at least I'm set up with a new liner to accommodate a new stove... Chimney is masonry, 25' from top to bottom of firebox. I've read a post once that said 8" flues could be reduced on taller chimneys. Has anyone tried this?

My Uncle ran this for nearly 20 years without a liner. Could I just use some 8" stove pipe and a block off plate. Seems like everyone says a stainless liner is a must but I don't want to break the bank on a old unproven free insert. Chimney was recently inspected and all flue tiles are fine.

Anyone out there with an older Model 91? Any good?

Thanks for any advice

Could I just use some 8" stove pipe and a block off plate.

That is called a slammer install and I doubt anybody here is going to say go for it.
Install the 6" liner and give it a shot hooked to the Buck. If it does not work out you can always get a diff stove but a liner in a masonry chimney/fireplace is highly recommended .

Slammer are no longer a recommended install method. Too many options for things to go wrong.