1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

castile auger motor won't shut off (clear control box)

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by greatwhitebowhunter, Jan 21, 2013.

  1. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,649
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    heatseeker is right. Your vacuum switch is fine if it shows zero ohms. That's closed. The intermittent power to it is also fine since that's what it's supposed to be doing > running your auger intermittently.

    So the ONLY problem you have anymore is a mysterious shutdown after 15 minutes? Right?

    The last thing you said about the auger was 'It will only run non stop if you bypass the vac switch'
    That led me to believe you STILL had an auger problem because bypassing the vac switch should NOT cause it to run 'nonstop'. At this point, I'm not sure what you're doing. Maybe stepping back and taking a fresh look at the whole thing would be best. Your also say that you have voltage every 7 seconds to the vacuum switch but no voltage out even though you test it at zero ohms and the auger turns every 7 seconds. I'm confused as hell.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. greatwhitebowhunter

    greatwhitebowhunter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Loc:
    Cathey's Valley, California
    Sorry for the confision
    I tried it again last night.
    When i start the stove this its what its doing.
    1. turn remote to on, starts to drop pellets for about about 10 seconds, ignitor starts to turn red.
    2. Flames start in about 45-60 sec.
    3. 2-3 min. green light c.b. on starts to drop more pellets in intervals 2 seconds on 7sec off
    4. 7-9 min green light off, red light on c.b.,
    5. 12-20 min times vary. system will start to shut down, no more pellets dropping. (red light c.b. on, red call light on )
    What should i test during shut down?
    vac switch??
    I have checked and cleaned thermo coupler.
    Flame heigth 4"-6"
  3. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    What setting are you on? Where is the feed gate?

    Sounds like you need more fuel? Once the initial bed of pellets burn down, you dont have enough fuel to sustain fire?

    Open gate 100% and turn to High... What happens?
  4. greatwhitebowhunter

    greatwhitebowhunter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Loc:
    Cathey's Valley, California
    I will try it on sunday, when i get home from work.
    setting is on high.
    I will open gate 100% & try.
    gate has been on lowest setting.
    link to Castile pellet stove
    Trouble shooting on page 29-32

    Owner’s Manual installation and Operation
    http://hearthnhome.com/downloads/installManuals/7022_122.pdf
  5. SwineFlue

    SwineFlue Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    589
    Loc:
    NE Pa
    The vacuum switch, hopper switch (on newer stoves), and snap disk #2 can stop the auger feed. Have you jumpered the vac switch recently? Checked the hopper switch?

    You don't mention the convection fan, so I assume it didn't start. Do the flames appear normal until just before the stove stops feeding? With your red light on for that long, I would think the blower should start. Could snap disk 2 be tripping? Try starting on medium and a mid feed gate... maybe it will run longer. To be honest, I'd be surprised if the stove could overtemp that quickly, but it can't hurt to consider it.
  6. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,649
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    Did you remove the extra extension on your hopper feed gate that you put on it to limit the feed?
  7. greatwhitebowhunter

    greatwhitebowhunter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Loc:
    Cathey's Valley, California
    (LOSS OF NEGATIVE PREASURE AT THE VACUUM SWITCH AFTER 10 MINUTES OR SO)
    Convection blower works fine no issues, on / off as it should
    no hopper switch on this unit.
    no i did not remove metal i welded to the adjusting rod. the part i welded on, is to the top of the rod and slotted that part for extra adjustment.

    I tried the system again.
    FEED GATE ADJUSTING ROD OPENNED TO THE FOLLOWING
    • 100% - 80% - 60% - 40% - 20% All had basicly same results (flame heigth changed a little)
    • (LOSS OF NEGATIVE PREASURE AT THE VACUUM SWITCH AFTER 10 MINUTES OR SO)
    System starts and runs as it should for 10 min or so.
    at about 10 min. shut down (pellets stop dropping)

    the incoming red vacuum switch wire coming from the control board still is asking for pellets every 7 seconds 120v
    But for some reason the system loses negative preasure and the switch opens. Not completing the cycle through the switch.
    the the outgoing orange wire from the vac switch loses power.
    at this point,
    I can remove the vac tube from the auger and suck on the hose and the system will operate as it should pellets start to drop pellets immeditely
    or i can bypass the v.s. by touching the red and orange wire and the system will restart again by dropping pellets every 7 seconds.

    I reset the adjustin rod to the original setting.
    I will try to make a w.c. mano meter and see what the readings are ????

    Should i try to post a short video.??

    Attached Files:

  8. greatwhitebowhunter

    greatwhitebowhunter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Loc:
    Cathey's Valley, California
    Crazy ass stove.
    I relocated the vacuum switch to the front of the unit, so it would be easier to test and to make a video.
    Started the system up and it has been running non stop now for 53 minutes.
    go figure.;?:)!!!
    still running 1 hour 20 minutes

    Attached Files:

  9. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    So you opened the gate from the lowest setting? To the highest setting and it runs??

    Amazing what fuel will do? LOL

  10. greatwhitebowhunter

    greatwhitebowhunter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Loc:
    Cathey's Valley, California
    still running 3 1/2 hours.
    feed gate open about 40%
    • the vac switch relocate working fine
    • if you try to move the v.s. it will open the switch.
    • in the original location it must have been vibrating (causing the v.s. to open) and not losing negative preasure??
    NOT SURE ALL I KNOW IT IS WORKING NOW;)
    THANK YOU TO EVERYONE WHO RESPONDED TO THIS POST
  11. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,036
    Loc:
    Salem NH
  12. dhall28

    dhall28 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    90
    Loc:
    Central Ohio
    most stoves decrease in vacuum as they heat up and the fire gets going. a brand new vacuum switch for Quads are .05 Inches of WC.
    i was working on a enviro empress and at cold got like either .25 or .15 Inches wc. put in a .1 vacu switch and only worked till it got up and running and hot. put in the proper .05 and worked fine, .1 switch from harman is 3 times less expensive than the .05 from quad but sometimes you have to have it.

Share This Page