Catalyst vs non-catalyst (I am new to this amazing forum)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
My borough has a "cash for clunkers" type program for replacing old woodstoves. I qualify (they give you $1500 toward a new high efficiency woodstove and $1000 toward the chimney). I currently use a 30 year old Osburn and like it but it is not efficient at all. I have narrowed it down to the Harman TL300, Blaze king or Pacific Energy. They all use different technologies and I am not familiar with the pros and cons of each. What would be the advantage of a catalytic converter as on the Blaze king? I live in North Pole Alaska and the winters are harsh so we do need a strong heater. Our house is 2 story 1120 sq ft up and down (2240 total). I really like the harman (I like the top load plus the grill and the large ash box). I like the thermostat on the blaze king and I like the combustor on the Pacific. I would appreciate Anyone with any of those stoves commenting as well as info on the various afterburners. Do they all heat well and burn efficiently, it seems like it is hard to compare numbers as they seem to use different formulas in their brochures. Thanks in advance...

hotprinter said: