creosote.... at witts end!!!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
I can't figure out why i keep getting creosote build up. My wood is (I assume) red oak, maple, and ironwood. I assume this based on previous owners statements that he cut dead wood on the ground and that is primarily what I have in my woods. The ends are cracked, cheapo meter is showing less than 20% moisture...... I run my stack to about 350, hold for an hour or so and then shut primary down to 1/4 open.....still get secondary burn and some primary flame... I am very paranoid about chimney fire as I am a firefighter, and an insurance agent, but I am cleaning this thing about once a week, getting a cup to a cup and a half of shiny crap...as well a coating that wont come out. Although very paranoid, I wait until I can hear stuff falling down the chimney and that's when I sweep it. At first I wasn't running the temp up enough...so I thought.... But this last week I believe I did things right, and I am hearing crap fall down the chimney. I am letting it go out tonight to sweep in morning but this is getting really old. Any idea what could be wrong? Is 350 on the stack still not enough? Could it still be the wood even though there is no sizzling and nothing coming out the ends? I can't keep sweeping this thing every week!

As the signature states I have a lopi endeavor...and there is very seldom any smoke.

THANKS FOR HE HELP